• 780.467.9412
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Volunteer of the Year

We would like to thank our amazing volunteers for all their time and efforts to make our SPCC a fabulous place to curl and socialize throughout the winter months. We are grateful for each and every one of you!

2023-24 - Gerry Salm

Gerry has worked extensively in his 2 year term as the President Elect/President.  His leadership and his lifelong skill set has been utilized immensely with his work on our governance, the reserve & business plan and several projects & events over the past 2 years.  
He works diligently behind the scene making sure all our policies, procedures and bylaws are clear and precise.  He developed documents to aid in the meetings of the Executive and Board. He created graphs and charts to track our membership. He attended several County meetings, he oversaw many projects and has volunteered on this year's season wrap up committee.
These tasks need to be done and he has taken the immense time to make sure the SPCC is following all requirements and continue to be in a favourable position as we move forward in the future. Gerry has provided a clear in-depth path for the future Board members to follow.
(photo to come)


2022 -2023 - Godfrey Huybregts

Our 2022-23 Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Godfrey Huybregts. Godfrey, along with the organizing committee who spent a year preparing for the 2023 Strathcona Cup. From fundraising to recruiting players to planning the banquet, Godfrey and his team gave their time and energy to make the Sherwood Park stop the best part of the 2023 Strathcona Cup tour. Thanks to his hard work, the event was a fabulous success and enjoyed by Scottish and Canadian curlers.

2022 23 VOY Godfrey Godfrey with Guy Vern and Ron
 Godfrey Huybregts (Chair)  2023 Strathcona Organizing Committee
Guy, Algot, Godfrey Huybregts, Vern Schmidt & Ron Michaud


2021-2022 - Herb Herder   Donna Dosman   Doug Kroetsch

We would like to recognize our Past, Past President - Doug Kroetch, Past President, Herb Herder & President - Donna Dosman for their ongoing leadership, expertise and loyalty throughout the trying times of the pandemic.  Together, they were essential to our ongoing success and key pieces to SPCC being able to pivot throughout the very trying times of Covid. Together, they tackled big decisions, acquired better governance, checked off the tasks we must do, looked at the things we wanted to do and continue to look to the future for what we need to do. Our Presidents accomplished the many tasks at hand - one mouthful at a time.  Thank you Doug, Donna and Herb for being loyal leaders!

Herb Herder, Donna Dosman, Doug Kroetsch

2019 - 2020 - Blair Horn

Our heartfelt congratulations goes out to our dedicated and longtime serving member & volunteer Blair Horn. Blair and his wife, Vera, have been active members of the Friday Night Mixed League (FNML) for nearly 25 years and have been supporting the club through its many transformations. He continues to support the club through running the FNML, setting up extraordinary social events, coaching in our junior program, assisting on several committees and volunteering at major events. There’s three words that come to mind about this genuine person.⁃ 1 kind and caring, 2 selfless and considerate and 3 dedicated and committed. Once you meet Blair, one only wants to get more involved and maintain the friendship for many more years. Thank you Blair for being a wonderful friend and member of the SPCC!

horn Blair volunteer2020 Horn volunteer2020

2018-2019 Season - Allison McKinnon

This year our very deserving volunteer of the Year award recipient is Allison McKinnon. Allison has served on the executive committee for the past two years as the Clubs secretary, and did a wonderful job of fulfilling the duties of that position. Allison also took the lead on updating the Clubs five year business plan, and set it up in such a way that we have a clear and concise direction of what we want to accomplish and why. Outside of her role on the executive, Allison has done a lot of work with the seniors league, and volunteered for countless other events over the years. Thank you Allison for all the time and effort you’ve given to the Club!

2017-2018 Season - Guy Algot

Who is this Guy? He is the Bonspiel Coordinator and spends countless hours making sure they all run smoothly. He also is our IT guy and is vital to our online registration and Content Management System. We are very thankful that he is part of our team.

Thanks Guy!!

DSC 0113

2016-2017 Season - Bonnie Schmidt and Vern Schmidt

We are so grateful and lucky to have two such wonderful volunteers as Bonnie and Vern. Although they are not related, they do share the same last name and the same generous spirit and dedication in serving our club. Both have been league reps for many years, as well as helping in many other areas of this club.

THANK YOU very much!

      Headshot Vern.jpg

2015 – 2016 Season – GSOC Committee & Sherry Ash

Congratulations to our WONDERFUL and very special volunteer – SHERRY ASH! Sherry has been a pillar of support to the Executive & Board with her role as the secretary over the past 4 years and for her continued role in honouring our volunteers. It was challenging to acknowledge her as she organizes and hosts the Volunteer of the Year Brunch. What a lady! Thank you for your continued support and efforts at the SPCC!

Congratulations to our DEDICATED Grand Slam of Curling Committee members for their commitment to our GSOC – Champions Cup 2016. The SPCC recognized the entire committee’s efforts and presented a plaque to the Chair’s Ann Bilinski and Lynn Penner.


2014 – 2015 Season – Michelle Lyster & Donna Dosman

Michelle Lyster our President & Donna Dosman, our Treasurer were honoured as our volunteers of the year. They awarded the honor to each other!

Michelle claims “This years volunteer of the year has been involved in it all. And not just involved but integrally involved. I don’t know how I would have gotten through the year without her…”, Donna also claims the same about Michelle! Thank you both for all you do!

2013-2014 Season – Ralph MacLean

Ralph receiving the honour from SPCC Presdient Michelle Lyster.

Master of Ceremonies, Sherry Ash, did an outstanding job as she complimented the volunteers in attendance.

Ralph’s accomplishments over the past several years include being a board member for more years than most of us can remember. He served on the Executive for 3.5 years and was instrumental in several key accomplishments, like co-chairing the VOY committee, sitting as President Elect, President and Past President, ice allocation director and was part of the SPCC/County contract negotiating team.

Member Login

Our Location

Glen Allan Recreation Complex
199 Georgian Way
Sherwood Park, AB
T8A 2W9

Contact Us

Mailing Address:
PO Box 3536
Sherwood Park, AB
T8H 2T4


[email protected] 

Club Information

The Sherwood Park Curling Club is an 8 sheet facility that is home to over 1000 active members and is run out of the Glen Allen Recreation Complex in Sherwood Park, AB. We are active members of the Edmonton and Area Curling Clubs.

The SPCC hosts 20 full leagues and programs weekly. Our leagues include ladies, men, mixed, juniors, open, seniors and adult beginners. We are wheel chair accessible and pride ourselves on educating and promoting the sport of curling in our community.

We embrace all levels of curling from beginners to competitive players. Come Rock with Us!